Data Compression in Shared Hosting
The ZFS file system which operates on our cloud hosting platform uses a compression algorithm named LZ4. The latter is substantially faster and better than every other algorithm you can find, particularly for compressing and uncompressing non-binary data i.e. internet content. LZ4 even uncompresses data faster than it is read from a hard disk drive, which improves the overall performance of Internet sites hosted on ZFS-based platforms. As the algorithm compresses data quite well and it does that very fast, we're able to generate several backup copies of all the content kept in the shared hosting accounts on our servers on a daily basis. Both your content and its backups will need less space and since both ZFS and LZ4 work extremely fast, the backup generation will not affect the performance of the web hosting servers where your content will be kept.
Data Compression in Semi-dedicated Servers
The semi-dedicated server plans that we provide are created on a powerful cloud platform that runs on the ZFS file system. ZFS employs a compression algorithm called LZ4 that is better than any other algorithm you can find in terms of speed and compression ratio when it comes to processing website content. This is valid particularly when data is uncompressed since LZ4 does that more quickly than it would be to read uncompressed data from a hard disk drive and because of this, Internet sites running on a platform where LZ4 is enabled will work at a higher speed. We're able to benefit from this feature despite of the fact that it requires quite a large amount of CPU processing time because our platform uses many powerful servers working together and we do not make accounts on just a single machine like the majority of companies do. There's an additional benefit of using LZ4 - considering that it compresses data very well and does that extremely fast, we can also make several daily backup copies of all accounts without affecting the performance of the servers and keep them for 30 days. In this way, you'll always be able to restore any content that you delete by mistake.